top of page
  • Writer's pictureleahpd

Face the Wolves leaves us howling for more.

An up and coming band of fallen angels preaching their electronic mentalcore madness


By Leah Parks-Davies

22nd of January 2022


Photography by Matt @matttookthese (left) Erin Chivers @erin.chivers_ (right)


After I sadly missed their headline set at Boileroom late last year, Face the Wolves returned again; this time opening for B.E.X and south arcade and I couldn't have been more excited to see them perform after hearing glowing views of their last show. Musically similar to Nova Twins, Yonaka and Raised by Wolves this rock chic fronted trio blew away all my expectations.


The perfect blend of ethereal and grit that makes my heart swell. The dynamic clash of vocal tones remind me of bands such as Evanescence and Linkin Park. Finally, it is so good to find a band with both vocal types, let alone both being produced by one powerhouse female. As a vocalist, I can promise it is extremely challenging to keep up that energy while switching between vocal tones, not to mention adding the gorgeous rasp screaming Serena manages. On top of this Joe and James keep up the momentum with their fascinatingly complex rhythms forces every single beat of their songs leaving me intrigued and needing to hear more.


Their soon to be released single “Archangel” was stuck not only in my head but all of my mates for hours after leaving Boileroom. It sounds and feels like a Bring me the Horizon track. It's the holy trinity of meaningful lyrics, boisterous beats and LOTS of bass, just like the rest of their songs. The band also played an untitled new song which teases us into a false sense of calm with a ballad style intro before bursting into full blown creative chaos. And as good as the break is in this untitled banger, I cannot wait to see the realms this band explores in their upcoming singles and EPs.


104 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page